Executive Committee


Dr. Paulette C. Walker, National President

Dr. Paulette C. Walker is the National President of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. Initiated into the Sorority through the Epsilon Epsilon Chapter of Michigan State University in October 1966, Dr. Walker has shown an uncompromising commitment to service for more than 45 years. She has served the Sorority on the local, regional, and national levels, gaining the respect and admiration of the membership. Dr. Walker is known as a visionary and a dedicated leader. To see her full bio, click here.


Beverly Evans Smith, National First Vice President
Beverly Evans Smith was initiated into Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. through the Epsilon Omicron Chapter at Bowling Green State University on October 21, 1967. She has held several leadership positions in the Sorority, including serving as the Executive Director. Currently, Soror Smith is Georgia's Assistant Commissioner (State Director) for Adult Education and GED Testing, a division of the Technical College System of Georgia. She is also a principal and co-owner of The HR Group, Inc. a management consulting firm. Soror Smith has 30 years of experience in the areas of strategic planning; organizational effectiveness and restructure; human resources; financial management; nonprofit organization leadership; and university administration.


Taylor McCain, National Second Vice President
Taylor McCain was initiated into the Kappa Omicron Chapter at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill on April 12, 2014. She has served in various capacities including chapter president, chaplain, and South Atlantic Regional Program Planning and Development Committee Member. Taylor is a senior at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and is pursuing a Bachelor of Arts degree in Journalism and Mass Communication with a focus on broadcast journalism. Her future plans are to become a talk show host. In her community, she is the communication fellow for Ignite North Carolina, a social justice group; she is also a program leader for Communiversity Youth Program.


Cheryl A. Hickmon, National Secretary
Cheryl Hickmon of Hartford, Conn., was initiated through Alpha Xi Chapter at South Carolina State University on April 22, 1982. Soror Hickmon served as the president of the Hartford Alumnae Chapter, and she served on the sorority's national executive board as a South Atlantic regional representative, Eastern regional director, co-chair of the Leadership Academy, and co-chair of the Documents Review and Revision Task Force. Soror Hickmon is a clinical laboratory technologist and is currently the supervisor of the Andrology and Endocrinology Laboratory at Montefiore's Institute for Reproductive Medicine and Health. She is a founding member of Thrillseekers, a ski adventure club.


Deborah A. Jones-Buggs, CPA, National Treasurer
Deborah Jones-Buggs, CPA of Chicago, IL, was initiated November 1979 through the Gamma Nu Chapter at Indiana University. Soror Buggs has been elected and appointed to numerous leadership positions on the local, regional, and national level. She has served as Chair of the National Finance Committee and Delta's National Executive Board from 2008-2013. Currently, Soror Buggs is a member of the Board of Directors of the Delta Foundation. Professionally, Soror Buggs is a CPA and for the last 28 years she has been a Special Agent with the FBI specializing in White Collar Crime, specifically Bank Fraud, Mortgage Fraud and Identity Theft.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
1707 New Hampshire Ave., NW
Washington, DC 20009
Phone: (202) 986-2400
Fax: (202) 986-2513

© 2015. Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. All rights reserved.