National President

National President, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Dr. Paulette C. Walker is the National President of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. Initiated into the Sorority through the Epsilon Epsilon Chapter of Michigan State University in October 1966, Dr. Walker has shown an uncompromising commitment to service for more than 50 years. She has served the Sorority on the local, regional, and national levels, gaining the respect and admiration of the membership. Dr. Walker is known as a visionary and a dedicated leader.

Dr. Walker is an educator in every sense of the word. In July 2011, she retired as the director of undergraduate programs and internship in the College of Education at the University of South Florida. Dr. Walker's research agenda focused on curriculum and instruction as well as administration and supervision issues in urban schools. She has shared her research and expertise during presentations at local, regional and national conferences, university and college campuses, and school districts. Dr. Walker is the co-author of the book, "We Can Have Better Urban Schools." Also, she has served as a classroom teacher, middle school and high school counselor, director of counseling, assistant principal and districtwide supervisor of state/federal projects.

Dr. Walker received her Bachelor of Science degree in mathematics education from Michigan State University, Master of Arts in guidance and counseling from The University of Michigan, and her Doctor of Education in administration and supervision from The University of Michigan.

Dr. Walker's noteworthy accomplishments have earned her recognition from several professional, civic and religious organizations. She is the recipient of the Hank Nuwer Anti-Hazing Hero Award; Ronald McNair Scholars Research Mentor Award; Ronald McNair Scholars Role Model Mentor Award; Outstanding Undergraduate Advisor Award from the University of South Florida; Certificate of Merit, Institutional Award, American College Testing Program and National Academic Advising Association; President's Affirmative Action Award, University of South Florida; Honorary Citizen of the State of Georgia; Admiral of the Great Navy of the State of Nebraska; keys to cities; city and state proclamations; certificates of commendation; outstanding service awards and other special honors.

Dr. Walker is an active member of Mt. Olive AME Church in Tampa, Fla., where she serves on the Trustee Board. Her other professional and community affiliations include: Board of Supervisors for Coahoma County (Mississippi); Member of the Council of Presidents'; National Pan-Hellenic Council; PACE Center for Girls Advisory Board, Moffitt Cancer Center African American Advisory Board, Mt. Olive Tampa Community Development Center, Mt. Pleasant Charter School Advisory Board, State of Florida; Governor's Commission on African American Affairs, American Cancer Society; Hank Warren Advisory Board, Hillsborough County Literacy Volunteers of America Board of Directors, American Diabetes Association Board of Directors, Bible-Based Christian Fellowship Academy Board of Directors and Moffitt Cancer Center Community Council Research Board.

"No one can make you feel inferior without your consent," is Dr. Walker's motto. She believes every person has a special gift that should be shared with the world. As a result, Dr. Walker strives to inspire everyone to find their inner gift by uplifting and empowering each life she touches.

A Detroit native, Dr. Walker has called the Tampa area home since February 1990. She is a widow and the proud mother of two adult sons and eight grandchildren. Dr. Walker is the only child of Helen and the late Otis Felton. In her spare time, she enjoys reading and sewing.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
1707 New Hampshire Ave., NW
Washington, DC 20009
Phone: (202) 986-2400
Fax: (202) 986-2513

© 2015. Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. All rights reserved.